Skip to main content Skip to site footer

EFL Board

The EFL Board of Directors is responsible for providing the organisation's strategic direction. 

The board consists of nine directors, six of whom are divisional representatives elected by member clubs. The divisional representatives include three directors from Championship clubs, two from League One clubs and one from a League Two club. The remaining three directors are independent of clubs and include the interim chair, the chief executive and an independent non-executive director.

Debbie Jevans CBE

EFL Executive Chair

Debbie Jevans joined the Board of the EFL in 2014, with her addition bringing an independent voice to its decision-making process.

A former professional tennis player, Jevans is on the Board of Sport England and was voted the most influential woman in British Sport in early 2014 by the Guardian. Previously she was Director of Sport for LOCOG - organisers of the London 2012 Olympic Games and Paralympic Games.

Jevans has been operating as Interim Chair of the League since September 2018 and has now taken on responsibility for leading the organisation until a new CEO is appointed.

Simon Bazalgette

Independent Non-Executive Director

Considered to be one of the most influential figures in UK sport, Bazalgette has been head of The Jockey Club, the largest commercial group in British horse racing, for more than a decade. Prior to that, he was the founding Chairman of Racecourse Media Group (RMG), which manages the media rights of more than half the racecourses in the UK. 

He remains a non-executive director of RMG, as well as the Racecourse Association; Great British Racing the sport’s marketing arm; and Britbet, which manages the pool betting service at 55 British racecourses. 

Bazalgette, who is a lifelong Brentford supporter, has considerable experience of working in multi-stakeholder environments, where the ability to build and maintain mutually-beneficial relationships is essential to long-term sustainability and prosperity, such as between the League and its Members. 

His sporting credentials were further enhanced when he became Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of the London 2017 IAAF World Championships, the most successful world athletics and para-athletics games ever staged.

At the 2019 AGM, Clubs ratified the appointment of Bazalgette to the position of Independent Non-Executive Director.


Club representatives


Mark Ashton - Championship Director – Bristol City

Stephen Pearce - Championship Director – Derby County

Nigel Howe - Championship Director – Reading

Jez Moxey - League One Director – Burton Albion

Steven Curwood - League One Director - Fleetwood Town

John Nixon - League Two Director – Carlisle United