Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Our Competitions

Information about EFL competitions

Sky Bet EFL

Established in 1888, the Sky Bet EFL is comprised of three divisions – the Sky Bet Championship, Sky Bet League One and Sky Bet League Two - with 24 teams in each division. Each season there are 1,656 regular season matches (552 per division) with 15 end-of-season Play-Off Matches, including three finals at Wembley Stadium.

Attendances across all 72 EFL Clubs have consistently topped 18 million in recent seasons and were at their highest in 60 years in 2018/19, illustrating the ever-increasing appetite for matchday football, whether that’s experiencing the unique atmosphere in stadiums up and down the country or live on TV from the comfort of a supporters’ own home.

Supporters’ desire for live football has proved higher than ever before, with EFL Clubs having more than 500,000 season ticket holders and Sky Bet Championship attendances surpassing the 11-million mark for the third successive season. Such attendances positioned the Sky Bet Championship as the third best attended division in Europe in the season 2017/18, with Spain’s La Liga and Italy’s Serie A just some of the high-profile leagues posting lower figures.


Carabao Cup 

Alongside the success of the Sky Bet Championship, League One and League Two, the EFL Cup (currently known as the Carabao Cup) continues to be the EFL’s showpiece cup competition, providing midweek football for all 92 professional clubs in both the EFL and the Premier League. The winner receives automatic entry into the following season’s UEFA Europa League. During the 2017/18 season, over 1.4million people made their way through the turnstiles of Carabao Cup fixtures with over 85,000 spectators filling Wembley Stadium to watch Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City defeat Arsenal in the Final.  

EFL Trophy

The EFL Trophy is a midweek knockout cup competition which includes 64 teams made up of EFL League One and League Two Clubs, plus an additional 16 sides from Category One Academies. 

The competition was first established in 1983 and offers Clubs a realistic opportunity of appearing in a showpiece final. The early stages of the competition follow a group stage format, where the top two teams progress to the knockout stages, with the Final staged at Wembley Stadium. The competition has a history of promoting innovation, with a platform designed to provide under-21 players increased opportunities to develop in the EFL.

Having undergone several changes in format since its inception as the Associates Members Cup in 1983, it became more recognisable to its current status when it became the Football League Trophy in 1992 and has since provided supporters of League One and League Two Clubs with 25 years’ worth of memories that can only come from being part of a cup final experience.